Coffee on the couch's Newsletter
Coffee on the couch's Podcast
Coffee on the Couch: Episode Nine - Mama Lola's Mexican Restaurant.
0:00
-1:16:29

Coffee on the Couch: Episode Nine - Mama Lola's Mexican Restaurant.

Located in Calais, Maine. USA
Mama Lola’s

If you can introduce yourself and, you know, take it from that point of view.
Well, my name is Manuela Medrano Duke.

I believe in the questions that I sent you; we’ll also be getting into the other place you just recently opened up to.
How do you say that?

Yo-Yo's?

Yo-Yi's.
His name is Yoel Cruz, and he is a
We were so close, and we depended so much on each other for support, emotional and otherwise.
He had such a big hand in helping me with the bar, trying to get open for most of the little artistic cues in there.
Unfortunately, he had his third bout of colon cancer.
And he passed away on May 13th.
And so, at that point, I decided I wanted to honor him and name the rafter.
So I named it Yo-Yi's.
That was my nickname for Yo-Yi.
So I decided to call it Yo-Yi's Fiesta Bar and Grill because it was a fiesta every time you're around him.
He was so fun, so exciting, and kept us on our toes.


It's a little hole in the wall, and it boasts such like food, and it delivers.
Thank you.
That was our goal.
We want to make it as traditional as possible.

Discussion about this podcast

Coffee on the couch's Newsletter
Coffee on the couch's Podcast
Join us on 'Coffee on the Couch' for lively conversations with everyday heroes, entrepreneurs, and inspiring individuals. Get ready to be uplifted, empowered, and inspired as we chat about life's challenges and triumphs over a virtual cup of coffee.